Charities for Election Reform in the United States

america us democracy charities banner

Giving to Democracy

Here is the list of charities for election reform in the United States we have compiled along with the corresponding website.  This is a good place to find organizations like Democracy Chronicles working in one of eight categories including Election Reform, Money in Elections, Transparency, Freedom and Civil Liberties, Election Method Reform, Democracy News, Activism and Election Reform in New York. For more information on the subject of election reform itself, see our Election Reform, Third Party, and Election Methods pages that are the gateway to accessing our coverage.

One of our favorite charities is the Center for Election Science whose fundraising charity can be found by clicking the their logo or visiting electology.org  center for election science bannerAlso, we recommend the website Reclaim Democracy who are working to create a better representative democracy with an actively participating public, where citizens don’t merely choose from a menu of options determined by elites, but play an active role in guiding the country and its political agenda.

Election reform blogs that we consider essential include Election Law Blog written by Rick Hasen and Ballot Access News by Richard Winger.  Also Common Cause and Move to Amend are major players behind election reform activism.

Please let us know if you have better links and information than we have or other organizations that should be on the list by commenting below.  We plan to expand and deepen our charity section in order to give our readers access to the world of activism:

Election Reform:

These election reform links include our favorites, Election Law Blog and Ballot Access News.

Advancement Project advancementproject.org
Ballot Access News ballot-access.org
Campaign for Stronger Democracy strongerdemocracy.org
Campaign Legal Center campaignlegalcenter.org
Center for Law and Democracy law-democracy.org
Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington citizensforethics.org
Color of Change colorofchange.org
Common Cause commoncause.org
Democracy is for People democracyisforpeople.org
Demos demos.org
Election Law Blog electionlawblog.org
Election Protection 866ourvote.org
Free and Equal freeandequal.org
Give Me Liberty givemeliberty.org
Move to Amend MovetoAmend.org
National Initiative for Democracy ni4d.us
Public Campaign publicampaign.org
Rootstrikers rootstrikers.org

Money in Elections:

ALEC Exposed alecexposed.org
Alliance for Democracy thealliancefordemocracy.org
Corporate Reform Coalition corporatereformcoalition.org
Follow the Money followthemoney.org
Friends Of the Article V Convention foavc.org
Maine Citizens for Clean Elections mainecleanelections.org
Money Outta Politics moneyouttapolitics.org
Open Secrets opensecrets.org
Program on Corporations, Law and Democracy poclad.org
Root Strikers rootstrikers.org
They Rule theyrule.net
Wolf Pac wolf-pac.com

Transparency:

Americans for Informed Democracy aidemocracy.org
Ballotpedia ballotpedia.org
Black Box Voting blackboxvoting.org
Consumer Watchdog consumerwatchdog.org
Electoral Vote electoral-vote.com
Project Vote Smart votesmart.org
Sunlight Foundation sunlightfoundation.com
Sunshine Standard sunshinestandard.org
Video the vote videothevote.org

Freedoms and Civil Liberties:

Action to Amend the U.S. Constitution amendusconstitution.com
Anti-Defamation League adl.org
Bill of Rights Defense Committee bordc.org
Free Speech is for People freespeechforpeople.org
Freedom of the Press freedomofthepress.net

Election Method Reform:

Also see Election Methods Central for more in-depth analysis and information.

Center for Election Science electology.org
Declaration of Election-Method Reform Advocates bansinglemarkballots.com
Fair Vote fairvote.org
Minguo Minguo.info
Range Vote rangevote.com
Range Voting rangevoting.org
Verified Voting verifiedvoting.org
Vote Fair votefair.org

Democracy News:

ACE Project aceproject.org
Center for American Progress americanprogress.org
Democracy Arsenal democracyarsenal.org
Democracy Digest demdigest.net
Democratic Underground democraticunderground.com
Project Vote projectvote.org
Reclaim Democracy reclaimdemocracy.org
Wikinews wikinews.org

Activism:

Artists for Empowerment artisticactivism.org
Center for Consititutional Rights ccrjustice.org
Citizens for Ethics citizensforethics.org
Citizens in Charge citizensincharge.org
Democracy for America democracyforamerica.com
Democracy Now democracynow.org
Democratic Society demsoc.org
Demos demos.org
Kids Voting USA kidsvotingusa.org
MyDemocracy mydemocracy.com
Peak Democracy peakdemocracy.com
Public Citizen citizen.org
Votetocracy votetocracy.com

Election Reform in New York:

nyc elections since 1790

Align NY alignny.org
Democracy for New York City dfnyc.org
Fair Elections for New York fairelectionsny.org
New York Communities for Change nycommunities.org
Participatory Budgeting in New York City pbnyc.org
Reinvent Albany reinventalbany.org
Who’s on the Ballot? whosontheballot.org